No web interface

For help and support with Mac OS X-specific issues
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Post Reply
homenet
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:25 pm

No web interface

Post by homenet » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:31 pm

After connecting to the server with the ip address and port number (192.168.0.8:9001) i get the logo that you have to click on to open the web interface after the clicking on it the webpage goes grey and thats it.

any ideas how to fix this?

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: No web interface

Post by Nadahar » Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:25 am

Submit debug files while reproducing the problem as explained in red above.

homenet
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:25 pm

Re: No web interface

Post by homenet » Thu Aug 03, 2017 1:36 am

here is the log you asked for plus a screen shot of the page I get after clicking on the logo after accessing the server with the ip address
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 14.32.55.png
This is the screen I get after clicking on the logo
Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 14.32.55.png (608.29 KiB) Viewed 638 times
ums_dbg.zip
ums log
(38.51 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: No web interface

Post by Nadahar » Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:37 am

Something goes wrong when trying to start the web session, this error is logged:

Code: Select all

INFO  2017-08-02 14:29:55.883 [AWT-EventQueue-0] java.io.IOException: Cannot run program ""/Library/Internet Plug-Ins/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin/Contents/Home/bin/java"" (in directory "/Applications/Universal Media Server.app/Contents/Resources"): error=2, No such file or directory
I'm not much of an macOS person, so I don't know why this location is being called or where the correct location would be. Can you try to find out where the plugin is actually located? I don't quite understand it though, it seems like it's trying to start the Java plugin for the browser, I didn't think the web interface required the browser to use Java. Maybe I misunderstand how this works, but I don't quite understand why this error occurs.

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 989
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: No web interface

Post by Nadahar » Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:57 am

I just fired up my Sierra VM and tried. I experience the same behaviour but without the above error logged, so that error might be unrelated. It's a Safari issue, I installed Firefox and that works properly.

I have no idea how to debug browser issues, so that's something somebody else will have to deal with. I've created an issue here: https://github.com/UniversalMediaServer ... ssues/1351

Post Reply