UMS quits unexpectedly on startup every time its opened.

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
thelonedoc

UMS quits unexpectedly on startup every time its opened.

Post by thelonedoc »

Hi there, I am new to UMS but I love it already. Now I would like to get it running smoothly to get the most out of it. I am on osx 10.6.8 because of some specific music recording software and equipment, so I am stuck with what I have. That being said I am still running java 7. Every time I start UMS I get an error message saying that "UMS quit unexpectedly" the strange thing is that it doesn't actually quit. This also happens very frequently when I go to play a video using Bubbleupnp as the controller and a google chromecast as the renderer. I compiled a trace log which should detail the odd crash upon starting the app but I couldn't get the crash to occur when playing a video so hopefully I changed a setting or something that resolved that aspect. I suspect that it will happen again though. I should also note that when this message pops up during the attempt to play a video it does appear to cause a disruption because the video will not play and a couple of times I even received an error message in bubbleupnp as well. Since I am now creating a thread about this I will update it with any further trace logs that can be associated with the playback errors as well as errors I receive in Bubbleupnp.

Thanks in advance for any help!
I am excited to get this server up and running smoothly.
ums_dbg.zip
(78.87 KiB) Downloaded 456 times
Nadahar

Re: UMS quits unexpectedly on startup every time its opened.

Post by Nadahar »

Since Apple makes so many changes to their API between versions, supporting old OS'es is difficult. I think anything below 10.7 would be difficult. I've used 10.8.5 for testing, so I know that works at least.