[Solved] 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Download and discuss official beta builds here
Post Reply
Madoka
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:51 pm

[Solved] 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Post by Madoka » Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:15 am

I just tried the new nightly build as I wanted to try out the 64-bit FFmepg. I am on Win 7, Java 8_25, both 64-bit.

UMS will fire up 64 bit FFmpeg, but the buffer never fills, and the PS3 gives me a "This content cannot be played" error. If I put in a direct path to the 32-bit FFmpeg in the config file, the 32-bit version will work fine. I have left it that way for now so that I can use 5.0.2a.
ums_dbg.zip
(23.57 KiB) Downloaded 127 times

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 2838
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Post by SubJunk » Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:58 am

Thanks for the report! Can you please try the following command with both the 32-bit and 64-bit FFmpeg and see if they say anything different, and if they both output the file? It will create a file "output.mpeg" in whatever folder your command line is in:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal Media Server\win32\ffmpeg64.exe" -y -i "G:\J-Drama\Again!!\Again!! ep01 (720p H264 AAC).mp4" -filter_complex subtitles="G\\:/J-Drama/Again!!/Again!! ep01 (720p H264 AAC).ass" -bufsize 7000000 -maxrate 499000000 -g 25 -q:v 1 -qmin 2 -qmax 3 -ab 448k -c:a ac3 -c:v mpeg2video -f vob output.mpeg

Madoka
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:51 pm

Re: 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Post by Madoka » Sat Feb 28, 2015 10:31 am

Well, I'm glad I picked a 24 minute file to test. LOL.

Both 64 and 32 bit versions out put the exact same sized file. I did the 64 bit first then changed the output file name to output64.mpeg before running the 32 bit version. I get a ton of "frame blah blah" in the window, and the stuff at the beginning was out of the buffer when I went to scroll up. If you need that stuff I'll have to run it again, but it seems that both versions are outputting the same thing. Just that the 64 bit output didn't go into the buffer?

However, I can play both output files with MPC-HC, and the subtitles look normal.

Oh, and the name of the file played doesn't always show up in the main tab, while the timer does. Again since the timer for the PS3 is inaccurate, I'd prefer the name to always appear and the timer not appear.

Madoka
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:51 pm

Re: 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Post by Madoka » Wed Mar 04, 2015 5:05 pm

I tried a build at 8b35bb9bf, and now it works. It briefly fires up 2 ffmpeg64.exe, but only one stays and works. Thanks SJ.

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 2838
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Post by SubJunk » Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:56 pm

Hmm I didn't do anything to fix this so that's mysterious, cool though! Thanks for the feedback as always Madoka :)

Madoka
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:51 pm

Re: [Solved] 5.0.2a and 64-bit FFmpeg

Post by Madoka » Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:09 am

That is weird as I had tried several files which didn't work before I made a trace log for you. I just tried an even later build at 21a39414f, and this one also works, but only fires up one ffmpeg64. Well, working is working and 10% faster is better!

Post Reply