ffmpeg vs tsmuxer

If you have a suggestion for a feature, post it here
Jeymz

ffmpeg vs tsmuxer

Post by Jeymz »

I've been playing with ffmpeg lately and I managed to produce an m2ts file that my picky Sharp TV actually was willing to play.

Maybe it is time to move away from tsmuxer? Not that I dislike tsmuxer, I had a lot of fun with it. However, tsmuxer isn't open source and there is no ARM version. If UMS can function in the same way with ffmpeg then smaller NAS would finally be able to serve mkv's.

I'm not an expert, but I assume ffmpeg might be able to include subtitles?

What's your opinion?
SubJunk
Lead Developer

Re: ffmpeg vs tsmuxer

Post by SubJunk »

They both have different purposes, so one probably won't replace the other; tsMuxeR is used by UMS to send separate video and audio streams together, which allows us to mix and match video/audio for compatibility, while FFmpeg is used for encoding.
It's probable that in the future FFmpeg will replace MEncoder, but not tsMuxeR (though there may be another replacement for tsMuxeR)
Jeymz

Post by Jeymz »

I was indeed specifically talking about remuxing, although ffmpeg can of course both remux and reencode.
I should have made myself more clear: I managed to remux an mkv containing h264 into an m2ts with just ffmpeg. (Both my TVs cannot play mkv's)
This didn't work with earlier versions of ffmpeg (Earlier ffmpeg-produced m2ts-files where unplayable on my TVs) and seems to be a new development, which I'm trying to bring your attention to. ffmpeg may not be perfect in this aspect yet, but I still think it is worth investigating, because of the transparency (due to open-source) and the new possibilities like subtitles and ARM-support.
SubJunk
Lead Developer

Post by SubJunk »

Jeymz wrote:because of the transparency (due to open-source) and the new possibilities like subtitles and ARM-support.