Starting a project - Various failures due probably to renderers configs

Discuss media renderers like Xbox 360, TVs, smartphones, etc.
Trebly

Starting a project - Various failures due probably to renderers configs

Post by Trebly »

Hello,

I am currently looking to set up a project [/ b] that is perhaps impossible in the state of development of the various tools.
I explain in a few words because I think that to know the context can help to understand my problems.
I'm not a pro but I'm editing video and photo at a time for family documents, but also in more serious of frameworks.

The volume of media leads me in first step to use simple tools particularly to view the images and video on my internal network using viewers directly connected to disks.

The projet is to Install a multimedia distribution local network for video, photo and sound using a server and UPnP renderers DLNA all with open tools. [/ B]

I begin using UMS and VLC and default renderers on some other equipments.

The network is Ethernet 1Gb (and wifi part for renderers) served by Freebox Revolution with 20TB disk (this volume depends on many data archiving)
A machine with a Core_i7 6700K and 32GB of memory holds the server role (in addition to his many other tasks)

Renderers are (current project):
  • - VLC - Windows on multiple computers
  • - VLC - Android on Amazon stick logged on téléviseur hdmi
  • - Android VLC on tablets and smartphones
  • - Player FreeBox
  • - Samsung Smart Hub

The media are accessible and served by:
  • - part directly over the network (various access)
  • - via UMS (Universal Media Server) with local and external stream access

Very quickly the difficulties has been accumulating,
  • - related to my knowledge tools
  • - related to setting problems
  • - related to technical limitations of the tools