FAQ | Forum | Tracker | Code

Vizio Smart TVs

Discuss media renderers like Xbox 360, TVs, smartphones, etc.

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby jackarbiter » Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:27 pm

I can't get it to see the vizio (or the samsung) on my network, and I tried adding the ip and port directly (in device spy) but it wouldn't see it. I'm not sure how to get it to see things properly (it only sees the media servers and my router). The vizio and the samsung both see media servers properly and the samsung is fine with mp4s (the vizio seems fine with mpgs but haven't tested it for UMS).

By firmware update I mean that the firmware may have been updated since the CNET article, but not since I bought it. I believe it has recent firmware, but I'm not sure.

The tvmobili quote from ranger seems to point to a specific reason the transcoding fails. It would make sense, what with the negative 500 million buffer.
jackarbiter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby Ranger187 » Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:28 pm

Let's focus on my results since I know for a fact my can stream. Then we can focus on the E series. I know the E series has less functionality. So working with the one that works, then working on the E series would prove the best path.

And it seems he's got other issues going on. And we are losing all the info I posted on (not trying to be a dick) useless posts.

;)
Ranger187
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby DeFlanko » Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:34 pm

Ranger187 wrote:Let's focus on my results since I know for a fact my can stream. Then we can focus on the E series. I know the E series has less functionality. So working with the one that works, then working on the E series would prove the best path.

And it seems he's got other issues going on. And we are losing all the info I posted on (not trying to be a dick) useless posts.

;)


what are the results of the CONF file i posted up for testing?

If it didn't work try the one attached please.
Attachments
VizioSmartTV.txt
(824 Bytes) Downloaded 68 times
User avatar
DeFlanko
Moderator
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:43 am
Location: San Pedro, CA

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby jackarbiter » Thu Dec 05, 2013 5:27 pm

I will let you and ranger sort this out but I figure extra debug logs won't kill anyone.

dbg is using the one you posted. It correctly changed the extension to be seen on the tv as .mpg instead of .mp4 and said "serving 1" in UMS (1 is what i renamed the mp4) and then stopped and did nothing, no buffer movement.

dbg2 is where I added:

TranscodeVideo=MPEGPSAC3
TranscodeAudio=LPCM

And commented out the last line, just to see if those options from the stock vizio would have an effect. It gave me the typical negative buffer I always got (see ranger's earlier pics to see the exact number).
Attachments
ums_dbg2.zip
(24.64 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
ums_dbg.zip
(27.79 KiB) Downloaded 23 times
jackarbiter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby ExSport » Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:30 am

Vizio conf file uses wrong parameter which terminates MEncoder.
Code: Select all
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.210 [mencoder.exe-2] Starting "C:\P\Universal Media Server\win32\mencoder.exe" -ss 0 H:\S\1.mp4 -msglevel statusline=2 -oac lavc -of mpeg -mpegopts format=mpeg2:muxrate=500000:vbuf_size=1194:abuf_size=64 -ovc lavc -channels 2 -lavcopts vcodec=mpegts:acodec=mp2:abitrate=192 -lavdopts debug=0:threads=2 -lavcopts autoaspect=1:threads=2:keyint=25:vqmax=7:vqmin=2:vrc_maxrate=19000:vrc_buf_size=1835 -nosub -noautosub -ofps 24000/1001 -lavdopts fast -mc 0.1 -af lavcresample=48000 -srate 48000 -o \\.\pipe\mencoder1386220593123
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.212 [mencoder.exe-2] Reading pipe: \\.\pipe\mencoder1386220593123
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.212 [mencoder.exe-2] Attaching thread: mencoder.exe-2
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.225 [Thread-25] MEncoder SB53 (C) 2000-2013 MPlayer Team
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.225 [Thread-25] Custom build by SubJunk, http://www.spirton.com
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.225 [Thread-25]
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.229 [Thread-25] success: format: 0  data: 0x0 - 0x4cd003cd
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.229 [Thread-25] libavformat version 55.21.100 (internal)
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.232 [Thread-25] libavformat file format detected.
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.262 [Thread-25] [lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.262 [Thread-25] [lavf] stream 1: audio (aac), -aid 0, -alang und
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.263 [Thread-25] VIDEO:  [H264]  1916x816  24bpp  23.976 fps  1303.9 kbps (159.2 kbyte/s)
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.263 [Thread-25] [V] filefmt:44  fourcc:0x34363248  size:1916x816  fps:23.976  ftime:=0.0417
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.263 [Thread-25] ==========================================================================
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.263 [Thread-25] Opening audio decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg/libavcodec audio decoders
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.264 [Thread-25] libavcodec version 55.41.100 (internal)
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.266 [Thread-25] AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, floatle, 70.7 kbit/2.30% (ratio: 8839->384000)
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.266 [Thread-25] Selected audio codec: [ffaac] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg AAC (MPEG-2/MPEG-4 Audio))
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.266 [Thread-25] ==========================================================================
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.266 [Thread-21] Result of \\.\pipe\mencoder1386220593123 : true
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.267 [Thread-25] PACKET SIZE: 2048 bytes, deltascr: 884
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.267 [Thread-24] Cannot find codec 'mpegts' in libavcodec...
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.267 [Thread-25]
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.267 [Thread-24] Couldn't open video filter 'lavc'.
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.267 [Thread-25] Exiting...
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:16:33.267 [Thread-24] Failed to open the encoder.
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:16:33.268 [Thread-21] EOF
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:16:33.272 [mencoder.exe-2] EOF
INFO  2013-12-04 23:16:33.272 [mencoder.exe-2] Process C:\P\Universal Media Server\win32\mencoder.exe has a return code of 1! Maybe an error occurred... check the log file

Please comment this line in VizioSmartTV.conf file:
Code: Select all
#CustomMencoderOptions = -channels 2 -lavcopts vcodec=mpegts:acodec=mp2:abitrate=192

As log say, "vcodec=mpegts" is not supported ;)
Restart UMS and test again.
Btw. device spy info say TV supports MP4 but config say it is not supported so MEncoder is used...
ExSport
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:57 am

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby Ranger187 » Fri Dec 06, 2013 1:34 am

Ex, what tv is that?

My M series handles it according to what I posted.
Ranger187
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:11 am

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby ExSport » Fri Dec 06, 2013 3:07 am

Can't say. In log it is "Vizio Smart TV - DeFlanko TEST" but there is no "UNKNOW RENDERER" info with its useragent string because relevant renderer.conf exists. It is needed to remove all renderer conf so we can see this string in log
@SubJunk: Is it possible log useragent when renderer is detected so it is possible to find it in log? Right now I can see RendererName only an no "UserAgentSearch string".
I can expect that it will include this part from renderer.conf - "UserAgentSearch = IPI/1.0 UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50" but without removing relevant conf we can't see if renderer doesn't announce more info about itself 8-)
Thx
ExSport
 
Posts: 342
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:57 am

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby jackarbiter » Fri Dec 06, 2013 3:36 am

Ranger if you believe the E series and M series to be that different then post some logs. I was posting mine as added info. I believe that the problems are the same, since you and I see the same negative buffers when large files are transcoded.

------------------

@exsport thanks for looking at this. I did comment that line last night during testing with no luck. But I will do it again this afternoon and post logs. I'd be willing to try several things at once and post relevant logs. Or since Ranger doesn't want us distracted he can post logs as described in DeFlanko's signature, I will just watch. My kid is really tired of me obsessing over this anyway.

We have been all over the place in this thread. Since you mention that about device spy and mp4, I'll sum up below:

Short mp4 files work, long ones don't unless plugged in via usb:

As dbq-anderson posted almost a year ago:

With all that said, I have gotten my .mp4 files to stream fine...as long as they're shorter than about 23 1/4 minutes. VERY weird. Any files that are longer than about 1400 seconds won't even start playing and result in orange error messages at the bottom right of the TV app stating that the video and audio codecs are not supported. I know they are supported because up to that length, they stream just fine and as mentioned above, if I pull the files to a USB drive and connect it to the TV, I can play any length I want to just fine.


This is my exact same issue. It is also one of the issues posted in the Vizio M series threads:

I can play files that are up to 21 m 16 s so far, but video with the same media info that's 46 m does not work.


mp4 files work if they are short, or are plugged in via usb. If they are longer they have orange "video codec not support, audio codec not support" (broken english messages FTW). The folks at Vizio said directly to me on the phone two days ago that this is a limitation of vizio tvs. So they have to be transcoded (as ranger posted: "These files NEED transcoded: .mp4 (avc/aac), .avi (mpeg4-divx5/mp3)"

Streaming works fine, transcoding doesn't:

Ranger says "This file plays fine" and posts a pic from an avi (streaming not transcoded) over an hour long. I have a long .mpg file that streams fine.

Meanwhile, any long files that are transcoded see this:

12-01 08:28:44 Buffer read ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException error:
12-01 08:28:44 readCount: "576460752303419392"
12-01 08:28:44 maxMemorySize: "209715200"


That is the exact same thing I see with the exact same numbers, but posted from one of ranger's posts. I see it for a large mp4 file, the above was from a large avi file that wasn't the right format to stream and needed to be transcoded. The log file I posted that ends in 2 has this error.

Another user already posted about this in the PSU forums:

In all the logs that I have seen from Visio customers, the TV requests a few chunks of data right at the start of the file which kicks the transcode process off. After a few seconds it then requests a chunk of data right from the very end of the file! at this point we say that we cannot possibly service that request because the transcoder is nowhere near that point of the file and the wait time would be large.

All other devices Sony, Samsung etc. etc. request small, incremental chunks of data that are always behind the transcoder write head, meaning that we can always service that request. We have a spoofing mechanism in place that just generates random data when the device requests it at the end of the file and I think that it is this random data that is causing the issue.

The mechanic of the streaming is what is breaking the transcoding, not the actual format of the files.

Vizio is not the only ones who act like this, there are a couple more but, the vast majority behave correctly. That is why we built the 'back door' into the tvmobili media server for clients that do behave this way.


SO THE QUESTION IS:

If we transcode the file to the exact thing it needs to be transcoded to, will it matter?

I for one will continue to try any .conf file that you post, and I hope that somehow we will find the right thing and it will transcode to one of these and work fine, but it looks like no matter what we transcode to, we're going to get this (from my debug file that ends in 2 where I commented out the bottom line and added: TranscodeVideo=MPEGPSAC3 TranscodeAudio=LPCM):

Code: Select all
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Matched media renderer "Vizio Smart TV - DeFlanko TEST with TranscodeVandA" based on address /192.168.1.114
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Received on socket: CONNECTION: Keep-Alive
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Received on socket: DATE: Thu, 05 Dec 2013 05:21:21 GMT
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Received on socket: HOST: 192.168.1.137:5001
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Received on socket: RANGE: bytes=576460752303419392-
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Received on socket: transferMode.dlna.org: Streaming
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Received on socket: USER-AGENT: IPI/1.0 UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Recognized media renderer: Vizio Smart TV - DeFlanko TEST with TranscodeVandA
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] HTTP: get/0$7$4$1/1.mp4 / 576460752303419392--1
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] discover 0 refresh forced: false
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] discover 0$7 refresh forced: false
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] discover 0$7$4 refresh forced: false
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.575 [New I/O worker #7] Asked stream chunk : ByteRange [start=576460752303419392, end=-1] of 1.mp4 and player MEncoder
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.576 [New I/O worker #7] Ready to Stop: false
DEBUG 2013-12-04 23:21:18.576 [New I/O worker #7] Setting InputStream new position to: 576,460,752,303,419,392
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.576 [New I/O worker #7] Sending 8646911282403872767 bytes.
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:18.576 [New I/O worker #7] Suspend Read: readCount=576460752303419392 / writeCount=38252544
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:19.603 [Timer-2] buffered: -576,460,752,264,372,224 bytes / inputs: 1
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:21.604 [Timer-2] buffered: -576,460,752,262,883,328 bytes / inputs: 1
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:23.604 [Timer-2] buffered: -576,460,752,261,314,560 bytes / inputs: 1
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:25.604 [Timer-2] buffered: -576,460,752,259,182,592 bytes / inputs: 1
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:26.077 [New I/O worker #7] Resume Read: readCount=576460752303419392 / writeCount=44584960
INFO  2013-12-04 23:21:26.077 [New I/O worker #7] Buffer read ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException error:
INFO  2013-12-04 23:21:26.077 [New I/O worker #7] readCount: "576460752303419392"
INFO  2013-12-04 23:21:26.077 [New I/O worker #7] maxMemorySize: "209715200"
TRACE 2013-12-04 23:21:26.078 [New I/O worker #7] Suspend Read: readCount=576460752303419392 / writeCount=44584960


But as I said I will post another log file when I get home as you suggested.

Ranger if you want to just test with your TV so we don't get distracted, test and post log files as described in DeFlanko's signature and I will just monitor the thread in hopes of a solution.
jackarbiter
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:02 pm

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby SubJunk » Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:49 pm

ExSport wrote:Can't say. In log it is "Vizio Smart TV - DeFlanko TEST" but there is no "UNKNOW RENDERER" info with its useragent string because relevant renderer.conf exists. It is needed to remove all renderer conf so we can see this string in log
@SubJunk: Is it possible log useragent when renderer is detected so it is possible to find it in log? Right now I can see RendererName only an no "UserAgentSearch string".
I can expect that it will include this part from renderer.conf - "UserAgentSearch = IPI/1.0 UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50" but without removing relevant conf we can't see if renderer doesn't announce more info about itself 8-)
Thx
I'll check it out
User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: Vizio Smart TVs

Postby sukh77 » Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:47 pm

Have you guys tried a different renderer.
Or you guys can try the Bravia conf I uploaded, I was having the same issue on my sony tv till I made the conf file:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1307
sukh77
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:52 am

PreviousNext

Return to Media Renderers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests