ALAC to PS4

For help and support with Universal Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
heddhunter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by heddhunter » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:02 am

It doesn't work. Even if it did work, every song ends up in a unique folder inside the #-Transcode-# folder so it wouldn't automatically play an entire album. I guess what I really want is for it to play through the main list, transcoding each thing to MP3 automatically. Doesn't seem like that is supported though?

I guess for now I will just manually transcode the folders I want to have available on the game system and keep them in a separate share.

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1197
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by Nadahar » Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:26 am

It seems to me like you have misunderstood a bit. If you renderer configuration is correct you don't have to use the TRANSCODE folder. That folder is only there so that you can override the automatic choices made by UMS. You should be able to play the files outside the TRANSCODE folder with a correct renderer configuration.

heddhunter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by heddhunter » Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:14 am

That first setting you had me add hides all the m4a files outside of the TRANSCODE folder though.

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1197
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by Nadahar » Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:19 am

Ok, that's not supposed to happen. Have you tried adding "TranscodeAudio = MP3" to the configuration file as well? When it's not defined it will transcode to LPCM - if the PS4 hides them, it indicates that it doesn't support LPCM.

heddhunter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by heddhunter » Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:47 am

Yes I added the TranscodeAudio line. PS4 does not support LPCM. FLAC, AAC and MP3 only.

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1197
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by Nadahar » Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:29 am

Are they still hidden with the MP3 line in place? If so, please make a new debug log because then something very strange is happening.

heddhunter
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:17 pm

Re: ALAC to PS4

Post by heddhunter » Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:39 am

OK sorry, my bad. They are visible with the TranscodeAudio line in place, but they don't play. Latest trace dbg attached...
Attachments
ums_dbg3.zip
(144.83 KiB) Downloaded 13 times

Post Reply