Sync heic images from iphone?

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
sssmott

Sync heic images from iphone?

Post by sssmott »

Can I sync heic images shot on iPhone directly or should I convert them into JPG/PNG before syncing? Any help would be appreciated as I am new to UMS :D
Komin

Re: Sync heic images from iphone?

Post by Komin »

These HEIC images can't be opened on a computer or other device unless you convert them .
That's what i did :
https://www.tunesbro.com/convert-heic-t ... ndows.html
Last edited by Komin on Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nadahar

Re: Sync heic images from iphone?

Post by Nadahar »

HEIC can be opened on a computer in theory. The problem is that Apple has chosen to use a patent and license encumbered format, which means that the decoding is only available for commercial, licensed solutions. HEIC basically use H.265 to compress the images, so free open source libraries will probably see the light of day in time if this format becomes widespread. I wouldn't wait for this to happen anytime soon though, as I think many are still "on the fence" waiting to see if this will be worth implementing.