[Solved] PC 'Stuttering' after UMS running for a while

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
speckledegg

[Solved] PC 'Stuttering' after UMS running for a while

Post by speckledegg »

So recently I've noticed an issues with my Windows 10 machine stuttering. The mouse will stutter, the audio will stutter, and the more I leave it the worse it gets. Closing UMS will fix the problem - youtube will play fine, movies will play fine, games won't lag etc.

I've never had this problem before - I recently upgraded to Windows 10 and thought the audio stuttering was linked to that, but it seems not. I've tried to figure out if it's a java problem, memory leak or whatever, but I'm no expert and I'm running a blank.

There's nothing in the UMS logs seemingly that shows an issue, but the computer definitely suffers. Any ideas on what I need to check, or how I might be able to trace the issue? I usually leave UMS running in the background, and have done quite happily for years, but now it's stopping me using the PC properly until I either reboot, or shut down UMS.

Thanks in advance,

Mark
mik_s

Re: PC 'Stuttering' after UMS running for a while

Post by mik_s »

I'm not saying it is not UMS, but for me when my computer does that after being on a while it is because it is running low on memory and has to swap some of it to the hard drive. It wasn't a problem on win 7 but has become more of an issue on win 10.
My laptop has only 4GB and is barely usable and I don't use UMS on that. A SSD would solve that issue but not something I can afford atm.

For me the biggest memory hog is Firefox, mostly because I have a lot of open tabs. When things start getting sluggish restarting Firefox fixes it. I have heard Chrome can use a lot of memory too if you are using that.