Page 1 of 1

.srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subtitle

Posted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:30 am
by wesyr
Hi,

Yesterday I've encounter a problem with mkv which contains multiple subtitle tracks and also an srt file.

The problem is that, Showtime can't load that requested srt file, when i type the link into a browser I get

Code: Select all

Failure: 500 Internal Server Error
As an attachment i'm providing log from ums and showtime.

It has been also reported on showtime tracker:

https://showtimemediacenter.com/issues/1835

I've reproduced it on a second computer with UMS.

Anyone knows what can be the problem ?

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 3:03 am
by wesyr
I've create VM with Win7, installed only UMS with prerequisites (java and AviSynth).

Turned on Trace log on UMS and Debug all HTTP on Showtime.

Logs in attachment.

Interesting parts:

Code: Select all

TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.409 [New I/O worker #2] Request: HTTP/1.1 : HEAD : get/0$2$2/blow-jobs720.srt
and it changes to

Code: Select all

TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] HTTP: get/0$2$2/subtitle0000.srt / 0-0
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] discover 0 refresh forced: false
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] discover 0$2 refresh forced: false
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] Sent to socket: Content-Length: 0
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] Sent to socket: Content-Type: text/plain
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] Sent to socket: Expires: Sat, 03 May 2014 08:13:50 GMT
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.670 [New I/O worker #2] Sent to socket: Server: Windows_7-x86-6.1, UPnP/1.0, UMS/3.3.0
TRACE 2014-01-07 15:27:10.680 [New I/O worker #2] Opened request handler on socket /192.168.1.35:52892
from the Showtime side:

Code: Select all

00:00:30.520: Subtitles [DEBUG]:Trying to load http://192.168.1.46:5001/get/0$2$2/subtitle0000.srt
00:00:30.520: HTTP [DEBUG]:Reusing connection to 192.168.1.46:5001 (id=13)
00:00:30.521: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000000: 47 45 54 20 2f 67 65 74  2f 30 24 32 24 32 2f 73    GET /get/0$2$2/s
00:00:30.521: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000010: 75 62 74 69 74 6c 65 30  30 30 30 2e 73 72 74 20    ubtitle0000.srt 
00:00:30.522: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000020: 48 54 54 50 2f 31 2e 31  0d 0a 55 73 65 72 2d 41    HTTP/1.1..User-A
00:00:30.522: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000030: 67 65 6e 74 3a 20 53 68  6f 77 74 69 6d 65 20 50    gent: Showtime P
00:00:30.523: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000040: 53 33 20 34 2e 33 2e 36  33 36 2e 67 64 31 66 63    S3 4.3.636.gd1fc
00:00:30.523: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000050: 64 0d 0a 43 6f 6e 6e 65  63 74 69 6f 6e 3a 20 6b    d..Connection: k
00:00:30.523: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000060: 65 65 70 2d 61 6c 69 76  65 0d 0a 41 63 63 65 70    eep-alive..Accep
00:00:30.524: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000070: 74 3a 20 2a 2f 2a 0d 0a  41 63 63 65 70 74 2d 45    t: */*..Accept-E
00:00:30.524: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000080: 6e 63 6f 64 69 6e 67 3a  20 69 64 65 6e 74 69 74    ncoding: identit
00:00:30.524: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x000090: 79 0d 0a 48 6f 73 74 3a  20 31 39 32 2e 31 36 38    y..Host: 192.168
00:00:30.525: HTTP [DEBUG]:0x0000a0: 2e 31 2e 34 36 3a 35 30  30 31 0d 0a 0d 0a          .1.46:5001....
00:00:30.525: HTTP [DEBUG]:http://192.168.1.46:5001/get/0$2$2/subtitle0000.srt: Response:
00:00:30.526: HTTP [DEBUG]:  HTTP/1.1 200 OK
00:00:30.527: HTTP [DEBUG]:  Content-Type: text/plain
00:00:30.527: HTTP [DEBUG]:  Expires: Sat, 03 May 2014 08:13:50 GMT
00:00:30.527: HTTP [DEBUG]:  Server: Windows_7-x86-6.1, UPnP/1.0, UMS/3.3.0
00:00:30.527: HTTP [DEBUG]:  Content-Length: 0
00:00:30.528: HTTP [DEBUG]:  
00:00:30.528: HTTP [DEBUG]:Reading 0 bytes
00:00:30.528: HTTP [DEBUG]:Parking connection to 192.168.1.46:5001 (id=13)
00:00:30.528: Subtitles [ERROR]:Unable to load http://192.168.1.46:5001/get/0$2$2/subtitle0000.srt -- Unknown format (0 bytes), dump of first 64 bytes follows
UPDATE
Uploaded correct debug (trace)

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:57 am
by wesyr
Another thing:

When i enter in browser

Code: Select all

http://192.168.1.46:5001/get/0$2$2/subtitle0000.srt
I get a blank page

After that when i enter into browser

Code: Select all

http://192.168.1.46:5001/get/0$2$2/jobs720.srt
Browser wants to download an srt file, i discard it.

Then i go back to

Code: Select all

http://192.168.1.46:5001/get/0$2$2/subtitle0000.srt
And now i see subtitles in plain text.

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:36 am
by wesyr
I can see that, more and more people are having this issue with external subtitles, not only here but also on pms forums and showtime forum - also have logged that issue in both places but only devs form showtime were able to respond.

And the only answer I'm seeing here is "use Transcode folder", it's not a fix but a workaround, and i do not have that folder and don't want to transcode because my ps3/tv can stream it and i don't want to put load on my PC.

So anyone ? Somebody ? Devs ? What do you need to help pinpoint what's the problem? I can deliver more logs if you need, more tries more combination, because i don't want to remux all the time my mkv to cut internal subtitles.

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:52 am
by Wolfgan
Interesting, I was puzzled why some mkv didn't show external subs when the srt existed on the same folder (and my renderer supported it).
Will try to test on my end as well. Thx! Wolf

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 4:09 pm
by SubJunk
Hi wesyr, firstly I appreciate the effort you've gone to in giving us info about this issue. Thanks :)
Is there a previous version of UMS that this worked on? It would be great if you can try some previous versions and find the last one that worked, if any.

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:06 pm
by wesyr
Hi SubJunk, great to hear from you :)

So i checked UMS till 1.5.0 version and it doesn't work :(

Everytime before installing UMS I've deleted main folder from Program Files and also from ProgramData, after install I've made two changes:

1) Copied renders folder - PS3/Showtime configs
2) Added mkv,avi to be skipped in transcoding

Even tried 3.4.1 - built today, but it's a no go.

One thing that I've observed is that above version 1.5.0 it was sending empty link, and the HTTP respond was OK 200, on version 1.5.0 it gave 500 Internal Server Error (maybe difference in Java version when 1.5.0 was built and new versions).

So that's for now. If you need something - newer trace log from UMS and Showtime, run the same mkv with and without interal subs or some other combination, just write it here :)

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:20 pm
by ExSport
@SubJunk
This bug was always present. It depends on renderer if empty page or subs are returned.
Also me found this behavior with internet browser...
https://github.com/UniversalMediaServer ... t-27181856

Re: .srt subtitles won't show if .mkv file has multiple subt

Posted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:47 pm
by wesyr
Hi again,

been trying to combine various options like here:

Post in: Subtitle problem

But also no change.

Maybe there is some other way ? Like disabling only INTERNAL subs in mkv file from GUI/config ?