PS4 now support DLNA!

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Dement

PS4 now support DLNA!

Post by Dement »

Well Sony just released a, "Media Player" for PS4. It supports DLNA and UMS does get detected and shows my media but so far I haven't found a way to get the media to transcode over. Anyone have any luck?
SubJunk
Lead Developer

Re: PS4 now support DLNA!

Post by SubJunk »

Hi Dement, we have made a PS4 profile to test, please let us know how it works for you: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Unive ... tion4.conf
Just put it in the renderers folder in your UMS installation
Fr3nZy

Post by Fr3nZy »

Streamed an MKV and a large 2.5gb MP4. Worked without a problem with and without the Sony-PlayStation4.conf. Even fast forwarding worked well.
UMS 5.1.3. Wired 1gb end to end.
miro1900

Post by miro1900 »

Hey guys,
I am trying to setup UMS for the PS4. I am new to this program. anyhow. I have the issue that .mkv files are running in general, just some of them are not working. those not working are quite big. one of them is 3,4 gb. could that be a reason that it is not working? smaller mkv files are working just fine. or could it be that i use wireless for streaming?
tried both ways, also with the Sony-PlayStation4.conf.
Boscan

Post by Boscan »

I tried using ums with the ps4. And it works well, but if I try to use a movie that has a srt file for subtitles, the ps4 says the media cannot be played.
I did not try the config. I'll try it shortly.

Edit: Nope. Doesn't work either way.
Dement

Post by Dement »

As Boscan said most of my archive in anime so they have SRT's.

I was able to play multiple formats without subs using the profile. I assume its an issue with Sony's player but I'm not really sure :/
peejamm

Post by peejamm »