Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

For help and support with Universal Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Post Reply
cmonster
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:15 am

Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

Post by cmonster » Mon Jun 11, 2012 9:51 am

I was running v1.01 and had autoupdate toggled. UMS saw the update and prompted if I wanted to download it. When I agreed, I could not type ANY information into any other running application until after the download completed. I couldn't even toggle to other applications without completely minimizing UMS.

After the download completed, everything went back to normal but the update didn't start automatically. It just left a window stating "Must download before run" with a Close button. Restarting UMS didn't kick off the update either, it just informed me that an update was available.

BTW, where does it save the new version of the installation file when it's automatically downloaded?

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 2943
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

Post by SubJunk » Tue Jun 12, 2012 5:30 pm

cmonster wrote:I was running v1.01 and had autoupdate toggled. UMS saw the update and prompted if I wanted to download it. When I agreed, I could not type ANY information into any other running application until after the download completed. I couldn't even toggle to other applications without completely minimizing UMS.

After the download completed, everything went back to normal but the update didn't start automatically. It just left a window stating "Must download before run" with a Close button. Restarting UMS didn't kick off the update either, it just informed me that an update was available.
I think the automatic updater bugs out if the program is minimised, not sure. I didn't write that feature but I will try to improve it.
cmonster wrote:BTW, where does it save the new version of the installation file when it's automatically downloaded?
I think it is saved in the program installation directory.

tthulin
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:03 am

Re: Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

Post by tthulin » Fri Jun 15, 2012 3:07 am

Run program as admin to update
resolution here:http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver ... ail?id=237

cmonster
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:15 am

Re: Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

Post by cmonster » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:26 am

I just tried the autoupdate feature again to update to 1.1.1 and I still cannot find the download. It's not in the installation directory (or subdirectories) nor is it in the default download folder.

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 2943
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

Post by SubJunk » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:57 am

It could either be in VirtualStore or the temp directory. Anyway hopefully the next version will feature a more stable autoupdate. If you want to help me test it I can upload a build

cmonster
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:15 am

Re: Autoupdate feature a bit intrusive (Windows)

Post by cmonster » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:16 am

Sure thing, let me know when you're ready and I'll run it through.

Post Reply