Problem with estimated network speed

For help and support with Universal Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Post Reply
eva01
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:33 am

Problem with estimated network speed

Post by eva01 » Thu Mar 07, 2013 8:57 am

I have installed the version 7.17 of java. Update the program version 2.40 to version 2.50 and now I have problems with the bandwidth of the network connection. The bandwidth is not greater than 1 mb/s, making it impossible to see any type of video. My TV is a sony bravia kdl-ex725. Attached debbug file.
Attachments
ums_dbg.zip
(24.94 KiB) Downloaded 92 times

User avatar
kuroukage
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by kuroukage » Thu Mar 07, 2013 5:43 pm

Have you tried power cycling your network?
黒影
_______________________________________________|_._._._._._._._._._
\______________________________________________|_#_#_#_#_#_#_|
------------------------------------------------------------------|---------------------

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 2942
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by SubJunk » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:20 pm

What happens if you install 2.4.2 again?

eva01
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by eva01 » Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:04 pm

SubJunk wrote:What happens if you install 2.4.2 again?
The version 2.4.1, 2.4.2 not shows the render

User avatar
kuroukage
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by kuroukage » Fri Mar 08, 2013 1:00 pm

eva01 wrote:The version 2.4.1, 2.4.2 not shows the render
Have you tried a fresh install of v2.5.0?
黒影
_______________________________________________|_._._._._._._._._._
\______________________________________________|_#_#_#_#_#_#_|
------------------------------------------------------------------|---------------------

eva01
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2012 9:33 am

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by eva01 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:06 pm

kuroukage wrote:
eva01 wrote:The version 2.4.1, 2.4.2 not shows the render
Have you tried a fresh install of v2.5.0?
Yes, ive a fresh install of v 2.50

SpeedyQ
Posts: 173
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:43 pm

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by SpeedyQ » Sat Mar 09, 2013 12:44 pm

Have you checked your network speed and network adapter settings?
Sometimes Windows updates or network adapter driver updates are causing problems if your adapter is set to auto-negotiation.
Normally you can also choose to use a fixed speed.
So as an example, if your adapter is capable and supposed to connect at 1Gbps does it really show? (You can check this via the Taskmanager and the Networking tab.)
And is the adapter set to the right Duplex setting?
If this does not resolve your problem, you have to check any hardware (Router, Bridge), cable and (possibly wobbly) connector between UMS and your renderer.

User avatar
kuroukage
Posts: 304
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 3:56 pm

Re: Problem with estimated network speed

Post by kuroukage » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:14 am

On the General Configuration tab under Network settings (advanced) pick Force networking on interface and select the network adapter you use with your server. Also, you can manually set the IP of your server under there as well as adjust the Maximum bandwidth in Mb/s setting. I currently leave mine set to 80.
黒影
_______________________________________________|_._._._._._._._._._
\______________________________________________|_#_#_#_#_#_#_|
------------------------------------------------------------------|---------------------

Post Reply