Seems High sierra Broke UMS

For help and support with Mac OS X-specific issues
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Post Reply
Whiteman006
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:33 pm

Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Whiteman006 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:37 pm

not sure why but after updating to High Serra UMS doesn't show up on PS4 and not in the UMS main panel

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Nadahar » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:58 pm

Please post debug files as described above. Also check that the new version doesn't have additional "security features" like extra paranoid firewall rules or sandboxing that keeps the communication from reaching UMS.

Whiteman006
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Whiteman006 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:19 am

heres the logs i did try out different DNLA servers and those came up on the PS4
Attachments
ums_dbg.zip
(25.99 KiB) Downloaded 21 times

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Nadahar » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:33 am

It seems that UMS is picking the wrong network interface (you haven't specified one, so it only picks the first one available). UMS is using 169.254.220.26, which seems like an auto-ip address/unconfigured NIC. What you probably want is for UMS to use 192.168.0.13. On the General Configuration tab, select force network interface and select "en1" and restart UMS.

Whiteman006
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Whiteman006 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 8:58 am

that didn't work

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Nadahar » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:08 am

It's very hard to know what happened without a new log file...

Whiteman006
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:33 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Whiteman006 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 1:09 pm

logs
Attachments
ums_dbg.zip
(45.38 KiB) Downloaded 19 times

User avatar
Nadahar
Developer
Posts: 1157
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 5:57 pm

Re: Seems High sierra Broke UMS

Post by Nadahar » Wed Sep 27, 2017 3:35 pm

UMS uses the correct network interface now and is communicating with several devices. Your network configuration is still a bit strange, so it could be some issues as a result of that, but things seem to be working more or less normally.

If you can't see UMS on your TV, I don't know what's causing it. You should see that UMS can "see" your TV. I can't see any communication with any PS4 though, so if there is one its communication isn't getting through to UMS.

Post Reply