ffmpeg output file does not contain any stream

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
SVMartin

ffmpeg output file does not contain any stream

Post by SVMartin »

Hi,

I am new to UMS, but it looks like a proper piece of software! Nevertheless I ran into the following issue.

I have UMS running on a VM that has a fresh install of Ubuntu 20.04 LTS server. The client is a Yamaha AV receiver for which I'm creating a new renderer file. The receiver cannot handle ogg vorbis files so they need to be transcoded.

I also have mp3 files, which play perfectly, but the folders that have the ogg vorbis files show up empty on the client.

I have hidden the transcoding directory in my UMS configuration: I just want the client to show the files and UMS transcode if necessary. I don't want to bother the user (me) with separate directories.

First check: is that how it should work, or do I have wrong expectations?

Second, the problem might be in ffmpeg transcoding. In the last line (see attachment) it says that the output file does not contain any stream.

Edit: i checked these files, they can be played perfectly with any random music player like VLC or rhythmbox.

Any help is greatly appreciated!
SVMartin

Re: ffmpeg output file does not contain any stream

Post by SVMartin »

Ok, some additional research.

The -an argument disables audio. That is weird when transcoding an audio-only track.

The -f image2 argument is related to formats (https://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-formats.html#image2-1), while there is no image in the audio stream. Weird again.

dn, sn and vf arguments are also related to video only.

Is UMS trying to transcode the ogg vorbis audio file as was it a video file?
Nadahar

Post by Nadahar »

It's not unthinkable, considering that OGG is a container aka "video" format. I would of course be a bug, but it's still not that unlikely.
SVMartin