Building Question

Developers forum for Univeral Media Server-related development (only for programmers)
Amadeus

Building Question

Post by Amadeus »

Is there a way to build UMS in a way that it creates the files and directory structure that's included in the 'distribution.tar' ..but, not tarred and not gzipped? In other words, I'd love to have a setup in which I could build and then run UMS right away from the files that are created by the build process ....make sense?

I mean, I know I could simply have an "install location" with the files/configuration/etc. from the distribution.tar.gz ...and then use a symbolic link to the ums.jar that is created with each build; however, how would one know if/when one of the renderer or web files changed?

Anyway, maybe I'm missing something? (I'm a total newbie with maven.)
Nadahar

Re: Building Question

Post by Nadahar »

I'm sure there is, the files are not packaged until the "package phase" (Maven term). If you e.g. ran "mvn compile" I'd think you'd find the structure under the "target" folder somewhere.

Even easier though, depending on what you goal is, is to Install Eclipse with the M2E plugin. Then you can simply start UMS from Eclipse, and Eclipse will compile as needed and then start UMS. It's great for testing and developing, but not they way to go if what you want to achieve is to always run the latest snapshot.
Amadeus

Post by Amadeus »

Hmm ... 'mvn compile' didn't seem to do very much other than create the .class files.

Code: Select all

apollo::root:/usr/UniversalMediaServer> mvn compile
[INFO] Scanning for projects...
[INFO]                                                                         
[INFO] ------------------------------------------------------------------------
[INFO] Building Universal Media Server 6.0.0-a2
[INFO] 
[INFO] --- git-commit-id-plugin:2.1.15:revision (default) @ ums ---
[INFO] 
[INFO] --- maven-resources-plugin:2.3:resources (default-resources) @ ums ---