[Solved] [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

For help and support with Universal Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Locked
D-Kalck
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 am

[Solved] [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by D-Kalck » Thu Aug 22, 2013 1:52 am

I'm using 3.0 alpha 3 with a PS3 and I can't jump to a specific time since the duration of the video is set to 00:00 here is the debug log :

Code: Select all

DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:06.925 [mencoder.exe-47] Starting "D:\Image & Video (x86)\Universal Media Server\win32\mencoder.exe" -ss 0 G:\Cars.2.2011.MULTi.1080p.BluRay.x264-LOST.mkv -quiet -quiet -really-quiet -msglevel statusline=2 -ovc copy -nosound -mc 0 -noskip -of rawvideo -o \\.\pipe\1377092466822ffmpegvideo
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:06.928 [mencoder.exe-47] Attaching thread: mencoder.exe-47
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.006 [Thread-213] Result of \\.\pipe\1377092466822ffmpegvideo : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.025 [mencoder.exe-48] Starting "D:\Image & Video (x86)\Universal Media Server\win32\mencoder.exe" -ss 0 G:\Cars.2.2011.MULTi.1080p.BluRay.x264-LOST.mkv -quiet -quiet -really-quiet -msglevel statusline=2 -channels 6 -ovc copy -of rawaudio -mc 0 -noskip -oac lavc -quiet -quiet -lavcopts acodec=ac3:abitrate=640 -af lavcresample=48000 -srate 48000 -aid 0 -o \\.\pipe\1377092466823ffmpegaudio01
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.028 [mencoder.exe-48] Attaching thread: mencoder.exe-48
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.062 [Thread-217] Result of \\.\pipe\1377092466823ffmpegaudio01 : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.125 [New I/O worker #6] External input stream instance is null... sounds not good, waiting 500ms
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.125 [tsMuxeR.exe-49] Starting "D:\Image & Video (x86)\Universal Media Server\win32\tsMuxeR.exe" C:\Users\D-Kalck\AppData\Local\Temp\universalmediaserver\pms-tsmuxer.meta \\.\pipe\1377092466824tsmuxerout.ts
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.126 [tsMuxeR.exe-49] Reading pipe: \\.\pipe\1377092466824tsmuxerout.ts
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.149 [tsMuxeR.exe-49] Attaching thread: tsMuxeR.exe-49
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.180 [Thread-231] SmartLabs tsMuxeR.  Version 1.10.6  http://www.smlabs.net
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.381 [Thread-214] Forced reconnection of \\.\pipe\1377092466822videoout with result : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.381 [Thread-218] Forced reconnection of \\.\pipe\1377092466823audioout with result : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.381 [Thread-214] Result of \\.\pipe\1377092466822videoout : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.381 [Thread-218] Result of \\.\pipe\1377092466823audioout : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.382 [Thread-231] Decoding H264 stream (track 1): Profile: [email protected]  Resolution: 1920:800p  Frame rate: 23.976
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.382 [Thread-231] Change H264 level from 4.1 to 4.1
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.382 [Thread-231] H.264 stream does not contain fps field. Muxing fps=23.976
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.383 [Thread-220] Result of \\.\pipe\1377092466824tsmuxerout.ts : true
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.385 [Thread-231] 100.0% complete
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.385 [Thread-231] H264 bitstream changed: insert nal unit delimiters
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.385 [Thread-231] H264 bitstream changed: insert pict timing and buffering period SEI units
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.385 [Thread-231] Decoding AC3 stream (track 2): Bitrate: 640Kbps Sample Rate: 48KHz Channels: 6
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.385 [Thread-231] B-pyramid level 1 detected. Shift DTS to 2 frames
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.598 [Thread-231] 100.0% complete
INFO  2013-08-21 15:41:07.699 [StartPlaying Event] Started playing Cars.2.2011.MULTi.1080p.BluRay.x264-LOST.mkv on your PlayStation 3
DEBUG 2013-08-21 15:41:07.700 [StartPlaying Event] The full filename of which is: G:\Cars.2.2011.MULTi.1080p.BluRay.x264-LOST.mkv and the address of the renderer is: 192.168.10.30

D-Kalck
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 am

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by D-Kalck » Mon Aug 26, 2013 8:25 pm

Forgot to mention that it works with alpha1.

z0m81e
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:27 pm

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by z0m81e » Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:58 pm

i have the same problem with all my mkv and avi files.
worked fine in alpha 1, but stopped working since.
the ps3 says the file is 0:00 in length and therefore its not possible to jump to a specific time.
this happens even before opening the file, its "missing" even when browsing the folders there is only a - in the file info under the name
resuming the file still works thou, most of the time.
mp4 files seem to work. once opened the correct time appears and everything works as expected

using win8, java7up25 (32&64bit versions tested)

User avatar
DeFlanko
Posts: 724
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:43 am
Location: San Pedro, CA
Contact:

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by DeFlanko » Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:32 pm

So i know it might sound silly, but do you have this feature Checked?
Image

I know with Streamed Videos fwd, rewind, pause are possible, but in order to do that with Transcoding videos (moslty with MKV's) this needs to be checked for the PS3.

D-Kalck
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 11:02 am

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by D-Kalck » Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:38 am

It was unchecked for me, so I checked this, but it doesn't solve the problem (on 3.0 beta 1). The time is still 00:00:00.

Though, it worked fine with 3.0.0.0 alpha1.

User avatar
DeFlanko
Posts: 724
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:43 am
Location: San Pedro, CA
Contact:

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by DeFlanko » Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:13 am

i know that when a video Transcode's for me, i too get 00:00:00 on any one of my devices, including the PS3.

@subjunk im sure you're aware of this feature missing from the latest release right?

Zathor
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:56 am

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by Zathor » Fri Nov 01, 2013 6:41 am

With 2.6.5 everything works as expected. But with 3.x (using b1 now) I have for all files (MKV + DVD ISO are my main file types) missing length/duration information in the folders list and also during playback. Therefore it is not possible to fw, rw or jump to specific positions in the video. I assume this is a bug and not a missing feature.

Here are my results:
PS3 - missing length for ISO + MKV
WDTV - missing length for ISO + MKV, but when set MKV as streaming in the renderer config I get the length for MKV at least during playback
Android - missing length for ISO (MKV length available, but it is set to streaming)
Attachments
debug_wdtv.zip
(27.99 KiB) Downloaded 200 times
debug_ps3.zip
(28.75 KiB) Downloaded 211 times
debug_android.zip
(28.73 KiB) Downloaded 212 times

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 3201
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by SubJunk » Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:30 pm

Hey guys, although I can't reproduce the problem myself I may have found the problematic piece of code. Trying to fix it now.

Zathor
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:56 am

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by Zathor » Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:06 pm

Thank you very much for your hard work. I can confirm that it is working now for my PS3 and the android device with the new 3.0.0 build!

but... sadly not for my WDTV. It shows always 00:18:18 as the length and when I try to jump (WDTV can only jump in 00:10:00 steps) the video exits. As this seems to be the case also with 2.6.5 when set to transcoding files I have opened a new posting: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1296
Last edited by Zathor on Sat Nov 02, 2013 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
SubJunk
Lead Developer
Posts: 3201
Joined: Sun May 27, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: [3.0.0.a3][PS3] Can't jump through video files

Post by SubJunk » Sat Nov 02, 2013 7:31 am

Thanks for confirming this is fixed and for reporting the WDTV bug :)

Locked