[PS4 Pro] Videos starting at the end; pauzing causes "crashes"

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Henduluin

[PS4 Pro] Videos starting at the end; pauzing causes "crashes"

Post by Henduluin »

Greetings,

I have been using UMS for many years (even before it forked off) and have always had a great experience. However, something in the last month or two has changed which is causing issues, and I cannot figure out what. Maybe someone here can help.

I stream solely to my PS4 Pro. If I don't transcode, the video files run fine. But when I do, 3 out of 4 videos start near the end and I have to manually rewind the video. This is a nuisance for obvious reasons, but since the PS4 Pro's Media Player is... iffy, it usually means I miss out on the first few seconds of the video as well, since for some forsaken reason it's almost impossible to fully rewind to the start of the video. I really miss the PS3 media player in that sense.

Anyhow, aside from that problem, which started about 2 months ago or so, over the last few weeks another issue started showing up: Whenever I try to resume a paused transcoded video, it crashes and gives me a "this file is not supported" error. Yet if I try to resume the video, it continues exactly where it left off.

I have tried various settings in both the most recent stable release (6.7.4) and the RC1 for version 7, but the problems are present in both. Anyone has any ideas on what might be causing these issues? Might it be something on the PS4 end of things?

Many thanks in advance.
Nadahar

Re: [PS4 Pro] Videos starting at the end; pauzing causes "crashes"

Post by Nadahar »

I don't have a PS4, but I assume they're as eager to force updates to it as they are for the PS3. Some of those updates could very well break stuff, as we've seen before.