File size missing LG49SK8500PLA

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
sileic

File size missing LG49SK8500PLA

Post by sileic »

Hello,

I am quite new to using a media server so I am sorry in advance if I don't have the right terminology etc.

I have a LG 49SK8500PLA and most video files are playing fine. The files usually show thier name, size and duration. However, for some files there is no file size just a dash "-" and while these files, mp4 and mkvs, play (after a longer than usually wait) I cannot fast forward or rewind.

Can anyone help me find the right settings?

Thanks in advance.
Nadahar

Re: File size missing LG49SK8500PLA

Post by Nadahar »

This is normal. The files "without size" are those that are transcoded because they aren't supported by your renderer (or at least UMS thinks so). It's not possible to know the size in advance (UMS would have to first do a "test transcode" of the whole file to find the size), which is why no size is available. The same issue is the reason why seeking isn't possible for some renderers when transcoding.

There are two "types" of seeking, byte based and time based. When the size is unknown, byte based seeking/positions aren't available, so only those that can handle time-based seeking supports seeking while transcoding.