Some folders randomly give "access error" on my Yamaha RX-A730

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
8bit_coder

Some folders randomly give "access error" on my Yamaha RX-A730

Post by 8bit_coder »

I've been using UMS for a few months now and it has this issue that is driving me crazy: some folders randomly give an "access error" on my Yamaha RX-A730 and I can't seem to figure out why. Nothing seems to be an indication of the issue in the logs either(the trace level logs are still attached just in case they're needed).

The only workaround I have found so far is copying all the songs from one folder to another and changing it's name, IE: If the folder "Rap" doesn't work, I copy its files to a new folder called "Some Music" and then most of the files work. It seems to be oddly correlated to folder names, and the "workaround" that I mentioned only seems to work half the time. It's really strange because almost half of my music library is inaccessible, due to this bug.

Weirdly enough, the web ui works perfectly fine, it's just the Yamaha receiver that has trouble with some folders. I've verified the folders aren't the issue themselves because I've unplugged the drive from my computer and plugged it into the USB port of the receiver and it can read the files just fine, so it seems to be a UMS issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Attachments
ums_dbg_2022-07-26-14-12.zip
(427.11 KiB) Downloaded 124 times
mik_s

Re: Some folders randomly give "access error" on my Yamaha RX-A730

Post by mik_s »

I'm not sure what the cause may be, maybe the Yamaha RX-A730 is seeing the directory name as a genre and getting mixed up.
I'm unsure whether this is happening with the renderer, metadata in the database or something wrong with what UMS is sending to it.