Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

For help and support with Universal Media Server in general
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
User avatar
Optimus_prime
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:39 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by Optimus_prime » Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:53 am

UMS at no stage records and prevents the usage any ports. It will only use the port you tell it (or default 5001). It must be something on your network (maybe firewall) thats causing this as it should clear any (including UMS) program (also ports in use) used during a reboot. Anyone else want to weigh in?
How Ask For Support
Remember, Debug Log's Can/Will Help and Explain your issues, we're not mind reader's but here to help
OS's I Use And Can Assist With: Windows 7/8, Mac OS-X 10.8 & 10.9
Mac OS-X Java 7 Builds Mac OS-X Java 7 Forum

User avatar
DeFlanko
Posts: 724
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:43 am
Location: San Pedro, CA
Contact:

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by DeFlanko » Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:38 am

Well here's what i would do.

1) Run wireshark without UMS running. There is a way in wireshark to filter down by PORT and see where and what is causing port 5001 to be used else where on your machine.

2) Run Process Explorer and then run UMS, watch the Javaw.exe process and what its doing...

3) Report back here with your findings... (also to capture the below i used a screen capture tool that OCR reads... TechSmiths Snagit...)


---My guess is still the Javaw.exe process is running causing that port to be used still.


on a side note... xD
Optimus - i did notice when i ran Process Explorer the Javaw.exe The threads tab and TCP/IP tab still has "things" in it after close of UMS.
I think this might be an underlying problem to some issues i've seen.

The following Stack was from a Random Thread ID (it changes every time [4 out of the 5 times this was the cause]) But the Start Address is always the same: "javaw.exe+0xc9f0" with 0% CPU and 0 Cycles Delta:

Code: Select all

ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForMultipleObjects+0xc0a
ntoskrnl.exe!KeAcquireSpinLockAtDpcLevel+0x732
ntoskrnl.exe!KeWaitForSingleObject+0x19f
afd.sys+0x41b14
afd.sys+0x41e02
ntoskrnl.exe!MmCreateSection+0xbccf
ntoskrnl.exe!NtWaitForSingleObject+0xe04
ntoskrnl.exe!NtWaitForSingleObject+0xbc1
ntoskrnl.exe!NtWaitForSingleObject+0x1184
ntoskrnl.exe!KeSynchronizeExecution+0x3a23
ntdll.dll!ZwClose+0xa
mswsock.dll+0x24fa
mswsock.dll+0x2350
WS2_32.dll!closesocket+0xcd
net.dll!NET_SocketClose+0x55
net.dll!Java_java_net_TwoStacksPlainDatagramSocketImpl_datagramSocketClose+0xa9
One other time it was a Java/bin dll that i didnt capture the name.


Below are the TCPIP hangs i was talking about:

Code: Select all

TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52833	dc01.1930networks.local:52834	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52834	dc01.1930networks.local:52833	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52835	dc01.1930networks.local:52836	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52836	dc01.1930networks.local:52835	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52837	dc01.1930networks.local:52838	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52838	dc01.1930networks.local:52837	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52839	dc01.1930networks.local:52840	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52840	dc01.1930networks.local:52839	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52841	dc01.1930networks.local:52842	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52842	dc01.1930networks.local:52841	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52843	dc01.1930networks.local:52844	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52844	dc01.1930networks.local:52843	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52845	dc01.1930networks.local:52846	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52846	dc01.1930networks.local:52845	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52847	dc01.1930networks.local:52848	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52848	dc01.1930networks.local:52847	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52849	dc01.1930networks.local:52850	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52850	dc01.1930networks.local:52849	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52851	dc01.1930networks.local:52852	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52852	dc01.1930networks.local:52851	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52853	dc01.1930networks.local:52854	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52854	dc01.1930networks.local:52853	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52855	dc01.1930networks.local:52856	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52856	dc01.1930networks.local:52855	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52857	dc01.1930networks.local:52858	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52858	dc01.1930networks.local:52857	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52859	dc01.1930networks.local:52860	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52860	dc01.1930networks.local:52859	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52861	dc01.1930networks.local:52862	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52862	dc01.1930networks.local:52861	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52863	dc01.1930networks.local:52864	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52864	dc01.1930networks.local:52863	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52865	dc01.1930networks.local:52866	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52866	dc01.1930networks.local:52865	ESTABLISHED
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:1337	dc01.1930networks.local:0	LISTENING
TCP	dc01.1930networks.local:52831	199.27.79.133:https	CLOSE_WAIT
those 52k ports are because im running AD on my machine
So fwiw 1337 is my UMS port.. and why is there a remote address of port 0?

also had to look up that CLOSE_WAIT ip and it happens to be this company: http://www.fastly.com/about WHOIS

i think that might be from my ISP...

User avatar
Optimus_prime
Posts: 690
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 6:39 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by Optimus_prime » Thu Apr 10, 2014 11:05 am

Lets look at it further, i must admit i start and shutdown UMS a lot during times of testing (thats a lot lately) and have only seen a javaw.exe hang once in about 20 restarts. Also close and reload after heavy usage doesn't increase the chances in my testing. I will look into it with wireshark, and (a fav program of mine) Process Explorer. Now i'm running Java 8 but i didn't see any difference in Java 7_51.

@Kasen23, could you try this for me
1. Start UMS
2. Go to 'Logs' Change 'Log Level' at bottom of page to 'TRACE'
3. Go to 'General Configuration' and change the default port to 5002
4. Restart UMS via the 'Restart Server' Button
5. Go back to 'General Configuration' and change the default port to 5001
6. Restart UMS via the 'Restart Server' Button
7. Post Logs Please

I would like to know if the javaw.exe in taskmanager is not killing upon exit of UMS (Check before you post a log). Unless the port is not clearing from the TCP/IP stack until restart of the machine (ignoring any usage timeouts)...................
How Ask For Support
Remember, Debug Log's Can/Will Help and Explain your issues, we're not mind reader's but here to help
OS's I Use And Can Assist With: Windows 7/8, Mac OS-X 10.8 & 10.9
Mac OS-X Java 7 Builds Mac OS-X Java 7 Forum

Zanzamar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:03 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by Zanzamar » Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:04 am

kasen23 wrote:I have gone and reset my router to default factory settings and trippled check to make sure there are no other applications using those ports. I can use any port from 5000 to 65000 and it works fine. But after doing a reboot whatever the previous port I was using will say it's in use when I know it's not. Than I have to randomly pick another port and restart UMS and it works fine until the next reboot of the computer and than same issue again. So somehow UMS is saving that port and not allowing me to use it again until the next reboot.

Did you ever fix this problem, I have exactly the same issue now.

Zanzamar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:03 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by Zanzamar » Sat Jan 24, 2015 4:43 am

Well I solved it, my computer is to fast! :)

I have installed UMS as a service, and when I changed the service to automatic(Delayed Start). The problem was gone.

idk, looks like it tried to start UMS before the network card, windows firewall and what not was initialized.

martincom
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:20 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by martincom » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:06 am

Newbie user as of this afternoon and having same trouble. Initial start up with port configured to 5001 is OK. Upon exiting UMS, and even waiting a few minutes, on next startup log reports port 5001 in use by another application. Change to port 6001 and re-start. Comes up OK. Upon next close and re-start, log reports port 6001 in use by another application. Javaw continues to run after UMS is closed. Also, it will not respond to "End Process" in Task Manager. The only way I could get the ports to release was computer re-start. I disabled having UMS stat with Windows to see if Java was also re-starting with Windows. Problem cleared. Re-enabled UMS to start with Windows and problem is still clear. Also, UMS startup time is almost instantaneous now whereas before it was around a minute to come up. Damn Gremlins! The only thing I changed was UMS starting with Windows.

UMS ver. 5.0.0
Java 8
Windows Server 2012 Essentials

Also, It would be nice if UMS recognized DLNA clients that come on line after it starts---but not a necessity.

martincom
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:20 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by martincom » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:53 am

OK, now the issue has returned as described in my previous post. I have some added symptoms. Each time I re-start UMS, without re-booting the computer, it opens another instance of javaw. As before, none of the instances respond to "end Process" in Task Manager.

Zanzamar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 7:03 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by Zanzamar » Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:29 am

maybe try reinstalling with a different version of java

martincom
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 9:20 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by martincom » Wed Feb 04, 2015 1:15 pm

Assuming changing to an older release of Java resolved the issue, it would eventually create another. Also, running UMS as a service did not resolve the issue (and I didn't think it would).

More Symptoms:

Clicking the "Restart" button in the UMS control panel also results in the port not being released and the starting of another instance of Java. I'm gathering from the other posts I've read that UMS also shuts down when the PC sleeps/hibernates. The UI of Server 2012 has a sleep/hibernate feature that also results in UMS sleeping. Upon searching for how to turn off sleep in Server 2012 I found most were looking how to activate it! While you can change aspects of the power scheme from control panel, you can't disable it. I'll check the startup BIOS tomorrow.

hasimirrossi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:24 am

Re: Port blocked. change it on the general configuration tab

Post by hasimirrossi » Fri May 01, 2015 11:37 am

I just had this very same issue. Turns out my IP address, despite being set by me on my network, had changed. Works now I've changed it on UMS.

Post Reply