Page 1 of 1

Memory leak in 3.0.0 ?

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:09 am
by sapsa
Hello,

Im running UMS 3.0.0-final headless. After day or two Im getting "java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space".
Im using -Xmx1024M to use 1GB or RAM, because I only have 1,5 on my home server.
The folder with shears are 4x 2TB full of data hdds.

Is it the problem with alot of data being parsed? Or UMS is allways tested with lower volume of shears and work that way very stable ?

Re: Memory leak in 3.0.0 ?

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:27 am
by Optimus_prime
Sorry but how much memory do you have in total?

Re: Memory leak in 3.0.0 ?

Posted: Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:03 pm
by sapsa
Optimus_prime wrote:Sorry but how much memory do you have in total?
like i wroted before. I had total of 1,5GB of RAM.

Today I upgraded to 3GB, and change XmX to 700M and Xss2048K, which givs me a total of 2221M of Virtual Ram

Re: Memory leak in 3.0.0 ?

Posted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 7:57 pm
by Optimus_prime
So before when you had 1.5Gb in total, thats not only your system to share but the java heap as well. You should leave UMS's defaults as -Xmx768M and -Xss2048k

This is the default line from UMS.sh and i would leave it as standard (Thats what i've used and had no issues)
# Execute the JVM
exec "$JAVA" $JAVA_OPTS -Xmx768M -Xss2048k -Dfile.encoding=UTF-8 -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Djna.nosys=true -classpath "$PMS_JARS" net.pms.PMS "$@"

Re: Memory leak in 3.0.0 ?

Posted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 6:01 am
by sapsa
Optimus_prime wrote:So before when you had 1.5Gb in total, thats not only your system to share but the java heap as well. You should leave UMS's defaults as -Xmx768M and -Xss2048k

This is the default line from UMS.sh and i would leave it as standard (Thats what i've used and had no issues)
# Execute the JVM
exec "$JAVA" $JAVA_OPTS -Xmx768M -Xss2048k -Dfile.encoding=UTF-8 -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -Djna.nosys=true -classpath "$PMS_JARS" net.pms.PMS "$@"
been using standard from start, but then it started falling and adding more Xmx gave more hours os table work

Re: Memory leak in 3.0.0 ?

Posted: Mon Nov 25, 2013 11:06 am
by Monica Jae
I just wanted to chime in and say that just as he wroted, i was also getting that java error. I have 8gb ram and was using the 1280 as suggested by UMS. not sure if this will apply to me anymore as i updated to 3.1.1. i have a whole other set of issues, now, which i writed about in my thread. peace :)