File Naming Conventions

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
bdushok

File Naming Conventions

Post by bdushok »

I'm very new to Universal Media Server, I've just installed it a few hours ago! I've been a Serviio user for almost ten years.

I can't seem to find documentation which shows the naming conventions which should be used on TV episodes stored within shared content folders. Serviio likes TV episodes to be stored within a folder named after the series. Each episode needs to be name using a format similar to S01E01.mp4 for episode 1 of season 1 of this series.

I've pointed UMS at my TV share but nothing is getting added to the library. The debug log shows errors like:
DEBUG 2023-08-12 14:41:43.069 [Lookup Metadata background worker 1] OpenSubtitles hash for "S01E12.mp4" is 1570056c577b5e6f
DEBUG 2023-08-12 14:41:43.123 [Lookup Metadata background worker 1] API status was 404 for {"error":"Metadata not found."}
, https://api.universalmediaserver.com/ap ... 3014982734

It seems like my existing naming must not be working well with UMS.

Can anyone point me towards docs which provides details on naming?

Thanks!
bdushok

Re: File Naming Conventions

Post by bdushok »

It looks like a format that works is the series name followed by a dash and the episode information. For example, Home Improvement - S01E01.mp4. The "Prettify Filename" feature makes the name look nice when browsing using DLNA or the web client. :)

The server appears to traverse folders but not use the folder hierarchy for DLNA or web navigation. I created a folder named Season 01 and placed S01*.mp4 within that. Both DLNA and web show all episodes under the series including those in folders, but they are not shown in folders.