[SOLVED] Videos suddenly not playing normally, ALL file sizes now gone

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
proficit

[SOLVED] Videos suddenly not playing normally, ALL file sizes now gone

Post by proficit »

Referencing: viewtopic.php?t=13415

I had been using UMS for the past 3 years with pretty much ZERO issues. Was on build 13.8.0 for past several months
I have UMS running on a PC (win10) and my renderer is a 2019 LG C9 TV (with latest firmware) using the built in video/media player.

A few days ago, I noticed a few things, just out of the blue:
- All videos were buffering like hell, even smaller ones. I can now barely get anything to play.
- File sizes are GONE from 99% of the video files. Just the "-" like Seleic mentioned in the above referenced thread. So no more fast forward or rewind. This was a red flag.
- Tried restarting UMS and rebooted PC, changed USB ports for my media drive (I am using USB2 with no issues again), rebooting router, etc. Nothing helped
- I deleted the entire <UMS profile folder>/database folder and then rescanned the directory. This did not bring back the file sizes.
- Updated to 13.9.0, did not help.

Some points:
- I specifically use video files where I KNOW that the file sizes are shown on my specific LG TV renderer. I very selectively only keep files in my directory that have always shown the sizes on my renderer.
-- Every single one of my videos used to have file sizes shown, and I was able to fast forward and rewind, again ALL files HAD the sizes shown, now only like 1% of the files show the size.
- I use a specific .conf file that was optimized for my LG TV, obtained from this forum years ago, and again I have had no issues with it.