Page 1 of 1
How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 5:32 am
by mortster
Hi, thanks very much for UMS, I've been using it for years and love it.
Something I can't work out (and I've done some searching) is how do you get ffmpeg or mencoder to transcode to h264/hc265 rather than mpeg2 by default ? My renderer is a PS3.
Most of my videos play with tsmuxer which I prefer as I know im getting the best quality, but for some it will switch to ffmpeg/mencoder, which I confirm by pressing select on the PS3 remote which will show MPEG2 as the video codec, rather than AVC.
I would just like to try using H264 codec rather than MPEG2 for those videos, although the issue I see then is that everything would show AVC as the codec, and I would no longer know if the tsmuxer or ffmpeg/mencoder engine is being used.
Hope I make sense

Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:31 am
by SubJunk
Hi mortster, thanks for using and loving UMS

You can add the line "TranscodeVideo" to renderers/PS3.conf, so you'll probably want to use one of the following lines:
TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H264-AC3 or
TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H265-AC3
However I don't think the PS3 supports H.265 so probably the first line is the best option
You can also disable the "do not add engine names to filenames" option on the Navigation/Share Settings tab, which will then let you know which engine is being used.
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 8:20 am
by mortster
Thanks very much for that information SubJunk, I will give it a go.
I do have my PS3 connected to a DTS capable receiver, and get the benefit of the DTS encapsulation in LPCM, would I therefore need to change the AC3 bit to DTS ?
Also, I have played around with the 'do not add engine names' option before, but I assumed it did not _always_ translate to what engine would actually end up playing the MKV - for example, I have ffmpeg at the top of the video engine order, but I have the option checked to defer to tsmuxer remuxing when possible. and im sure in the past it would always state the engine in the filename to be ffmpeg/mencoder rather than testing beforehand if tsmuxer would end up being the engine in use.
Hope I make sense, and once again thank you for a wonderful product.
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:32 pm
by SubJunk
mortster wrote:Thanks very much for that information SubJunk, I will give it a go.
I do have my PS3 connected to a DTS capable receiver, and get the benefit of the DTS encapsulation in LPCM, would I therefore need to change the AC3 bit to DTS ?
Also, I have played around with the 'do not add engine names' option before, but I assumed it did not _always_ translate to what engine would actually end up playing the MKV - for example, I have ffmpeg at the top of the video engine order, but I have the option checked to defer to tsmuxer remuxing when possible. and im sure in the past it would always state the engine in the filename to be ffmpeg/mencoder rather than testing beforehand if tsmuxer would end up being the engine in use.
Hope I make sense, and once again thank you for a wonderful product.
You don't need to change it to DTS, it will use DTS anyway if the setting is enabled

Yeah you're probably right about it not always being correct about the engine
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 10:16 am
by jp0213x
SubJunk wrote:Hi mortster, thanks for using and loving UMS

You can add the line "TranscodeVideo" to renderers/PS3.conf, so you'll probably want to use one of the following lines:
TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H264-AC3 or
TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H265-AC3
However I don't think the PS3 supports H.265 so probably the first line is the best option
You can also disable the "do not add engine names to filenames" option on the Navigation/Share Settings tab, which will then let you know which engine is being used.
Hi,
Where in the config file do you add "TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H264-AC3" Would this be under the header "UserAgentSearch = PLAYSTATION 3"?
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:36 am
by Supermanfan77
Code: Select all
UserAgentSearch = PLAYSTATION 3
SeekByTime = exclusive
CreateDLNATreeFaster = true
WrapEncodedAudioIntoPCM = true
TranscodeFastStart = true
TranscodedVideoFileSize = -1
MimeTypesChanges = video/avi=video/x-divx
AutoExifRotate = true
WrapDTSIntoPCM = true
MediaInfo = true
TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H264-DTS
TranscodeVideo = MPEGTS-H265-DTS
# Supported video formats:
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 5:38 am
by jp0213x
Thanks
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Wed Jun 22, 2016 5:33 am
by squadjot
Is
MPEGTS-H264-DTS a valid value?
DefaultRenderer.conf wrote:
# Profile to use for transcoding video files.
# Options:
#
# Profile Video Audio Container Notes
# ------------------------------------------------------------
# MPEGPS-MPEG2-AC3 MPEG-2 AC-3 MPEG-PS VLC only outputs 2-channel AC-3 audio
# MPEGTS-MPEG2-AC3 MPEG-2 AC-3 MPEG-TS VLC only outputs 2-channel AC-3 audio
# MPEGTS-H264-AC3 H.264 (AVC) AC-3 MPEG-TS VLC only outputs 2-channel AC-3 audio
# MPEGTS-H264-AAC H.264 (AVC) AAC MPEG-TS
# MPEGTS-H265-AC3 H.265 (HEVC) AC-3 MPEG-TS Only FFmpeg outputs H.265, others will output H.264
# MPEGTS-H265-AAC H.265 (HEVC) AAC MPEG-TS Only FFmpeg outputs H.265, others will output H.264
# WMV: WMV 2 (WMV 8) WMA 2 ASF
#
# These profiles are supported by the MEncoder, FFmpeg and VLC engines.
# Default: MPEGPS-MPEG2-AC3
TranscodeVideo =
Re: How to transcode to H264/H265 rather than MPEG2 ?
Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 11:27 am
by Supermanfan77
squadjot wrote:Is MPEGTS-H264-DTS a valid value?
I've tried and no it's not a valid code unfortunately.