Page 1 of 2

[SOLVED] Transcode to 720p

Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 11:16 pm
by Cilenco
Hey everyone,

I'm using UMS 6.5.2 since one month and it is wonderful :) But I have one problem with it:
I only stream to my tablet which has a native resolution of 720p so I would like to transcode the videos to this resolution. In the resolution settings I tried to set the width and height in the MEncoder plugin and set it as primary plugin but this does not work. I also tried to add

Code: Select all

OverrideFFmpegVideoFilter = scale=1280:720
to the renderer file but this also does not change the resolution. Any ideas why? I do not exactly know if FFmpeg or MEncoder is used for my stream. I'm using VLC on my Tablet which is recognized as VLC for Desktop from UMS. Most files I'm streaming are: wmv, mp4 and mkv files. Would be great if you can help me with this.

Greetings,
Cilenco

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 12:47 am
by Sami32
Hi,

Information taken from your DefaultRenderer.conf file:
# The maximum width and height supported by the renderer. 0 means unlimited.
# Both must be 0, or both must be higher than 0.
# Defaults: 1920 and 1080
MaxVideoWidth =
MaxVideoHeight =
Just add these 2 lines in your renderer configuration file:

Code: Select all

MaxVideoWidth = 1280
MaxVideoHeight = 720

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:00 am
by Cilenco
Thank you for this but it also does not work.
For "debuging" I tried with 1024x768 (4:3) as resolution but the video is played as 16:9

EDIT: I found out with OverrideFFmpegVideoFilter = scale=1024:768 it works for some (but not all) videos

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:19 am
by Sami32
If you need more help, just follow the forum rules:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=556

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 2:37 am
by Cilenco
Here are my log files:
ums_dbg.zip
(37.77 KiB) Downloaded 409 times

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:16 am
by Sami32
You should remove your settings and add the following lines into your renderer configuration file:

Code: Select all

MaxVideoWidth = 1280
MaxVideoHeight = 720
KeepAspectRatio = true
KeepAspectRatioTranscoding = true
Are you using a Samsung Note tablet ? Which model ?

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:20 am
by Cilenco
With remove your settings you mean my added lines from my renderer.conf?
Yes I'm using a Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 2014 WIFI only (SM-P 600)

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:33 am
by Sami32
Yes.

I asked you that because the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 that i checked have a resolution of 2560 x 1600 Pixels, so i was wondering...

EDIT: The 2014 model that i just checked have a resolution of 2560 x 1600.

Re: Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:42 am
by Cilenco
Yes you are right don't know why I thought so... Sorry for this convenience.
But my WIFI connection is not the best so anyway it would be great to downscale the videos.

I think the lines did it :) I tested with the VLC player on my computer and from the codec information I get that the resolution of the stream is now 1280x720.
If this helps to reduce buffering while watching can only tell the time. Or is there something else I could reduce (Bitrate or something like this) to get a better experience?

Already, thank you very much for your help.

[SOLVED] Transcode to 720p

Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:08 am
by Sami32
You are welcome :)
Please, add [SOLVED] in front of the title of you first post, as i did in my post now.


Set your resolution to 720 will also use much more CPU power, so the final choice is your.

Maybe you should try something like this:

Code: Select all

CustomFFmpegOptions = -async 1 -fflags +genpts -c:a libmp3lame -ac 2 -b:v 35000k -bufsize 35000k -f matroska

Code: Select all

MaxVideoBitrateMbps = 22