Live Streaming.

For help and support with Universal Media Server
Forum rules
Please make sure you follow the Problem Reporting Guidelines before posting if you want a reply
Post Reply
Tyestor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Live Streaming.

Post by Tyestor »

Is anyone able to tell me how to get live streaming to work?

Specifically, twitch.tv. I've tried the following in WEB.conf:

videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,http://www.twitch.tv/honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,http://www.twitch.tv/widgets/live_embed ... el=honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,mms://http://www.twitch.tv/honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,mms://http://www.twitch.tv/widgets/live_embed ... el=honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,mmst://http://www.twitch.tv/widgets/live_embed ... el=honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,rtmp://http://www.twitch.tv/honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,rtmp://http://www.twitch.tv/widgets/live_embed ... el=honcast
videostream.Web,Twitch=Honcast,rtmpe://http://www.twitch.tv/widgets/live_embed ... el=honcast

None of them work i just get the "This content cannot be played (800288E1)" error.
Attachments
ums_dbg.zip
(12.2 KiB) Downloaded 486 times
Tyestor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by Tyestor »

anyone?
User avatar
SharkHunter
Developer
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by SharkHunter »

Your log contains only startup code. Reproduce the bug with logging enabled and set to TRACE see viewtopic.php?f=9&t=556

On a side not Livestreaming urls needs more resolving. Look at the Channels/Jumpy/PMSEncoder plugins.
We reject: kings, presidents and voting.
We believe in: rough consensus and running code.
Tyestor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by Tyestor »

SharkHunter wrote:Your log contains only startup code. Reproduce the bug with logging enabled and set to TRACE see viewtopic.php?f=9&t=556
I know this. The reason I didn't bother reproducing the "bug" is because I'm pretty sure it's not a bug and the reason I uploaded it at all is so you could see my configs. Regardless, new attachment.
SharkHunter wrote:On a side not Livestreaming urls needs more resolving. Look at the Channels/Jumpy/PMSEncoder plugins.
What do you mean by resolving? A more accurate url? I've tried looking for a RTMP url with URLSnooper and that couldn't fine one. I'm sure you can view twitch streams outside of their site because with the use of this app you can watch streams in vlc/mplayer (although I have no idea how it's done) Also, need more information on those plugins. I've tried using Jumpy and PMSEncoder before and they didn't help.
Attachments
ums_dbg.zip
(25.13 KiB) Downloaded 483 times
Last edited by Tyestor on Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
SharkHunter
Developer
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by SharkHunter »

Yes it is ofcourse possible to snoop out the rtmp url, thats what Channels/Jumpy/PMSEncoder does. But you'll need to update those plugins when you add new soruces. Or you need to dig out the complete url before adding it to the WEB.conf.
From what is seen in the logs and this:

Code: Select all

mms://http://www.twitch.tv/widgets/live_embed_player.swf?channel=honcast
rtmp://http://www.twitch.tv/honcast
the urls you've added are not the complete urls that can be used for streaming. Adding stuff like this "rtmp://http://" will never work as it is a maformed url that will produce some errors at best.

So if you want to look at twitch over UMS you'll need to either dig deeper so yo get the real url. Or get some plugin to automatically resolve the url. Since there is a app that can do this it could most likely be integrated into Channels/jumpy.
We reject: kings, presidents and voting.
We believe in: rough consensus and running code.
Tyestor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by Tyestor »

Alright, so I've installed Channels via the plugin manager (seems to have installed PMSEncoder too). Also have removed all the links from the WEB.conf. What do I do now? You said that PMSEncoder/Channels/Jumpy can snoop the rtmp link, so I'm assuming all that needs to be inputted is the regular http web url (http://www.twitch.tv/honcast) somewhere (dunno where to actually put said link)? Do I need to install Jumpy as well?

EDIT: Tried sniffing the rtmp link with URLSnooper, Wireshark, RTMPExploreX and Stream Transport. None of them found any rtmp links. I have no idea how livestreamer is getting the right link. I tried looking in the twitch plugin for it but I don't know python.
User avatar
SharkHunter
Developer
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by SharkHunter »

No I didn't say that those plugin can snoop the rtmp url. I said they could be updated to do that. That is a process that requires some sort of programming normally. Either you do that yourself, Channels uses it's own "language" (which can use any sort of script language) for creating Channels, jumpy relies on Python and PMSEncoder on groovy.

Here is a sample from Channels. This is YouTube
https://github.com/SharkHunter/Channel/ ... youtube.ch

It relies on another script for producing the real YouTube url
https://github.com/rg3/youtube-dl/raw/2 ... youtube-dl
We reject: kings, presidents and voting.
We believe in: rough consensus and running code.
Tyestor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by Tyestor »

SharkHunter wrote:No I didn't say that those plugin can snoop the rtmp url. I said they could be updated to do that. That is a process that requires some sort of programming normally. Either you do that yourself, Channels uses it's own "language" (which can use any sort of script language) for creating Channels, jumpy relies on Python and PMSEncoder on groovy.

Here is a sample from Channels. This is YouTube
https://github.com/SharkHunter/Channel/ ... youtube.ch

It relies on another script for producing the real YouTube url
https://github.com/rg3/youtube-dl/raw/2 ... youtube-dl
Well, by the looks of your post the first sentence said that they did then the last sentence said what you said in this post. I'm confused. Anyway, I can't find any rtmp link for twitch no matter what url sniffer I use. All I want to do is play twitch streams on my tv through UMS.
User avatar
SharkHunter
Developer
Posts: 648
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 9:36 pm

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by SharkHunter »

I said that is what those plugin does, fetches rtmp urls. But they don't do that for a random site on the internet. If your site is supported by one of those plugins all is well.

We are about to add a new interface to UMS called URLResolver which would do just this BUT you still need to add some special code for each new site on the intenet you which to stream.

Looking at twitch it looks fairly simple to fix that site since they got an API. That said someone still has to do it.
We reject: kings, presidents and voting.
We believe in: rough consensus and running code.
Tyestor
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Live Streaming.

Post by Tyestor »

I'll wait until that gets implemented then. Currently it looks like there's no way to play twitch livestreams.
Post Reply