LG WebOS TV's

Discuss media renderers like Xbox 360, TVs, smartphones, etc.
boss
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 1:07 pm

LG WebOS TV's

Post by boss »

I have 2 LG WebOS TV's and I have found that UMS transcodes quite a lot of files which can be streamed.
I have modified my LG-WebOS.conf file over the years so most get streamed now.

1. More than half of my AVI files were being transcoded. Now they are being streamed.
2. FLAC files were being transcoded. Now they are being streamed.
3. FLV files were being transcoded. Now they are being streamed.
4. M4A files were being transcoded. Now they are being streamed.
5. MKV files with OPUS audio were being transcoded. Now they are being streamed.

My LG-WebOS.conf file is attached if anyone is interested.
PS. 15 February 2023. The attached LG-WebOS.conf replaced due to a typo in the original.
Attachments
LG-WebOS.conf
(2.81 KiB) Downloaded 615 times
Last edited by boss on Thu Feb 16, 2023 3:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Quesito
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 6:35 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by Quesito »

Hello. I also have 2 LG WebOs TVs. I have downloaded the file you attached and installed it in: C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal Media Server\renderers.
Now I can watch all videos without having to go to the "Transcode" folder.
It works perfectly. Thank you so much.
Just a question.
I have Philips Hue lights installed in my house.
Before installing its configuration "LG-WebOS.conf" in the UMS program I got the "HUE" icon with a black background and put "Philipshue.config (screenshot "Before"). Now I get an image of a TV and puts "LG-WebOS.conf" (screenshot "After")
I hardly understand anything about the program's configuration, I have created a "Philipshue.conf" file, I have installed it but it does not work. (Attached in the zip file, next to the two screenshots)
Would you be so kind as to tell me, how to proceed, so that the icon of the Philips Hue lights returns to its previous configuration?
Thank you so much.[attachment
Attachments
Config-LG-WebOS.zip
(584.53 KiB) Downloaded 532 times
boss
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 1:07 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by boss »

The philips HUE icon problem may be because I gave the LG-WebOS.conf file a high priority.
Try changing this in your LG-WebOS.conf file:

LoadingPriority = 3
change to
LoadingPriority = 1

If you are not sure how to edit the LG-WebOS.conf file, post back and I will modify it and attach it in this thread.
Cheers
Quesito
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 6:35 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by Quesito »

Thanks for answering.
I have followed the steps that you have indicated, change to LoadingPriority = 1
And the Philips Hue icon is still in the shape of a TV and the settings for
"LG-WebOS.conf". Since it's just a visual issue, I don't want you to waste your time because of me.
Thank you so much.
Attachments
Config.zip
(128.64 KiB) Downloaded 545 times
boss
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 1:07 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by boss »

If you did not, UMS needs to be restarted after making the change to LG-WebOS.conf.

The philipshue.conf file you attached previously had all the information hashed out.
# frienddlyName:Philips hue (192.168.1.34)
# addres:192.168.1.34
# udn:uuid:2f402f80-da50-11e1-9b23-ecb5fa21e526
# manufacture:Signify
# modelName:Philips hue bridge 2015
# modelNumber:BSB002
# modelDescription:Philips hue Personal Wireless Lighting
# manufacturerURL:http://www.philips-hue.com
# modelURL:http://www.philips-hue.com

The file isn't actually doing anything if all hashed.

That's about all I can think of.
User avatar
mik_s
Moderator
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by mik_s »

The Philips hue should not be showing in UMS as it is not a media player, so you don't need a conf for it.
The one you made was all commented out so it has no effect. Is that auto generated by UMS by clicking on Customize this device?

To see what is going on I will have to see logs, see the link in my sig.
Logs are important for us to help, Please follow This Link before asking for support. Just a forum cleaner, Will help if I can but no expert.
Quesito
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 6:35 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by Quesito »

Hello, mik_s.
Thanks for answering.
I attach the file "Trace"
You ask me: "Is that auto generated by UMS by clicking on Customize this device?"
I attach a small video in the "TRACE.zip" file where you can see that clicking on "customize device" creates a file and saves it in "C:\ProgramData\UMS\renderers".
For example, I clicked on UMS, in Windows Media Player, I clicked on "customize device" I clicked on save and it renamed it from being "LG-WebOS.conf" to "ANTONIO-c3999d.conf".
Do I have to do this on everyone that shows up in UMS "Status"?
Nowadays, with the setup created by @boss on LG-WebOS I hardly have to use the Transcode folder on TVs.
Attached tracer files, 1 screenshot, 1 small video.
Thank you.
Attachments
TRACE.zip
(1.93 MiB) Downloaded 510 times
User avatar
mik_s
Moderator
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by mik_s »

I see what is going on now. The matching RegEx is incorrect and is matching anything on your network as being the LG WebOS TV

Try this one instead.
LG-WebOS.conf
(2.88 KiB) Downloaded 547 times
With that the Phillips hue should not show up and Windows Media Player will be identified correctly. Chrome was being detected as that conf is loaded before the WebOS conf so that takes priority, but if it wasn't then it would have shown as a TV too.

The other thing to mention is that those TV's show up twice. This is because they have a second screen function that identifies itself differently so UMS thinks that they are 2 separate devices.

You should not need the customize device setting unless there is something specific you need it for. This just creates a conf unique to that renderer so you can add options for only that one to use. When it is first created that conf is almost blank and you have to edit it yourself to add those options.

I suggest you delete any confs you created this way so they do not interfere. There may be stored in C:\ProgramData\UMS or C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal Media Server\renderers depending on where you saved them. Also delete the philipshue.conf you made just in case.

I see that you are using V11.6.0. It might be worth updating to 13.2.0 now.

@Boss your matching criteria was

Code: Select all

UpnpDetailsSearch = \\[?LGE?\\]?( |-)(w|W)ebOS ?TV|LG Smart TV||LG-WebOSTV
but had an empty OR statement || so it was matching everything. I have changed it to

Code: Select all

UpnpDetailsSearch = \\[?LGE?\\]?( |-)(w|W)ebOS ?TV|LG Smart TV|LG-WebOSTV
Logs are important for us to help, Please follow This Link before asking for support. Just a forum cleaner, Will help if I can but no expert.
boss
Posts: 361
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 1:07 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by boss »

@mik_s
Thanks for getting to the bottom of the issue.
A typo mistake by me (when editing the LG-WebOS,conf file) which I have never noticed before.

The LG-WebOS.conf file attachment in my original post has been replaced to the one with the typo corrected.
Cheers
Quesito
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 6:35 pm

Re: LG WebOS TV's

Post by Quesito »

Hello, mik_s.
I have downloaded the new LG-WebOS.conf file and replaced it with the old one.
All perfect.
I have deleted the file that I had created Philipshue.conf.
I have opened UMS and now Philips hue appears with an icon like when I installed UMS it no longer appears as a TV.
Regarding what you mention:
"The other thing to mention is that those TVs appear twice. This is because they have a second screen feature that is identified differently, so UMS thinks they are 2 separate devices.

You shouldn't need custom device settings unless there is something specific you need it for. This just creates a unique conf for that renderer so you can add options to use just that one. When first created, that conf is almost blank and you have to edit it yourself to add those options.

I suggest you remove any settings you have created this way so it doesn't interfere. It may be stored in C:\ProgramData\UMS or C:\Program Files (x86)\Universal Media Server\renderers depending on where you saved them."
I have not created any conf so that the same monitor can be seen twice in UMS.
I have completely removed UMS and done a clean install. Duplicate TVs keep appearing both without installing the new LG-WebOS.conf file and installing it. If I click, for example, on the 2 TVs (in UMS) [LG] webOS TV SK8100PLA they are configured differently (I attach screenshots).
So I don't even know how to eliminate the one that doesn't correspond because I barely understand almost nothing about the program.
I don't know if this is going to create any problem, but for now I see UMS perfectly on my TVs.
Thank you very much for all your help.
All the best.
Attachments
Screenshots.zip
(263.89 KiB) Downloaded 532 times
Post Reply